Chromebook log

Chromebook log: Week 1

  • My computer angst
  • Past
  • Present
  • Future
  • What the Heck?

“Be committed to trying out a Nothing but WEB environment”

It has  been three days since I ordered the Chromebook that I am using right now. I was so fascinated by this little machine I had to do a post. For starters: I have been doing world wide web development since 1999.  I would call myself an OJD – “Original Java Developer,” (aka Old Java dude) and in fact, you would call me a Java  Bigot.  For my MBA studies in 1997, I went hog wild and turned in some papers outlining the domination of this new Class of language–called JAVA. Chromebook log: Week 52

“Java is Dead – Long live JavaScript”

Back to the Present: – doing  enterprise level Java development is like driving a Mac Truck over a tight skinny wood bridge-doable but not pretty. Think of the Web stack: Web Server, Application server, Database,  Java framework (shit this can go 10 levels deep), JDA, JDO, EJB, JMS, XML, XLST, Spring, ANT, JMS, MVC, JSF,  not to mention security, authentication, authorization, and don’t forget Performance. Now, you need DBA, WAS administrator, Linux Admins, Security experts, Java Developers, Java Architects, Project Managers and God forbid a Scrum master. The present has become BIG, BAD, and UGLY. You could say it has become a bit loony. Something has to change, and in fact I have been searching for this change for the last 5 years! What does the crystal ball foretell? Chromebook log: It has been a wild ride… “I have found it!” My fortune cards predict:

  • HTML5
  • JavaScript
  • No SQL Database
  • Adoption of online IDE (full stack)

What the Crud? Simple – Create, Read, Update and Delete. This is not rocket science. What the UI? Javascript, yes JQUERY on a rope. My goodness, the separation of data and UI is real, and again simple (another post). What the DB? High priest of Database design – aka. Obfuscation. Get rid of the priest. What the Heck – HTML5, JavaScript and No SQL database, is the past coming back to our future. No kidding, its like the mainframe days only now the mainframe is the whole darn INTERNET! And Heck – the nucking mainframe was easy!

“The Mainframe is dead, long live the INTERNET!”

Ops – Got on my soap box – Okay, stay tuned and I will write about this darling little Samsung 5 Chromebook.

Categories: chromebook, computer angst, html5, javascript

Leave a comment